Mini Reviews: “Hesitant Alien” by Gerard Way

I must admit, I’ve been a fan of Gerard Way from the My Chemical Romance days. From the first time I saw the video for “I’m Not Okay (I Promise)”  on my television screen, teenage me was enthralled by the music and instantly feel in love with the sound coming from my screen and to my ears. But this isn’t a My Chemical Romance appreciation post.

For me, as soon as I heard Gerard Way was making a solo album, I knew I had to look up the songs that were posted in anticipation for the album and once again, I was hooked. Perhaps I’m biased to a point, but Way has always captured me with his vocal skills and the melodies created throughout his new album have caught my attention once again and has be bobbing along whether I’m riding the tube into the city or walking down the street.

While My Chemical Romance had a more rough edge to their music, especially in the earlier albums, Way comes forth with a new sound, infused with rock and brit undertones, as I believe was his intention. The overall aesthetic makes you feel badass and sends good vibes through and through. Some of my favourite tracks from the album include, “Action Cat”, “No Shows”, and “Millions”.


  1. “The Bureau”
  2. “Action Cat”
  3. “No Shows”
  4. “Brother”
  5. “Millions”
  6. “Zero Zero”
  7. “Juarez”
  8.  “Drugstore Perfume”
  9. “Get The Gang Together”
  10. “How It’s Going To Be”
  11. “Maya The Psychic”



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s