Gone to a Gig | Lord Huron @ the KOKO London (03/06/15)

This past week, Wednesday to be exact, after much frantic reorganizing and almost missing the show itself, I was able to partake in the wonderful music by the one and only Lord Huron!

The Venue: The infamous KOKO, a place I had continuously heard about and noticed in the past was a place many of my favourite artists appeared, did not disappoint. With it’s illustrious character and noticeable history apparent in it’s decor, you’d know that if it’s walls could talk they’d have stories to tell. One small downside was the maze of hallways and stairwells that were confusing at first. But after one go around and making it to the main stage, we were set.

koko london

I was able to snap a few shots between performances and after the concert itself. While my phone’s camera couldn’t capture the essence of the venue, you can at least begin to witness the ornate wonder and detail that’s within it’s interior — From the raised mouldings to the dark red walls and the layers of balconies and musically charged atmosphere throughout, this was one place I’ll definitely be returning to.

The Show: The performances began around 7:00pm – 7:30pm, opening with  Bhi Bhiman. Unfortunately, I was only able to hear his last few songs, but from the small excerpt I heard I enjoyed the sounds coming from the stage and I will definitely be giving him a looksie online and checking out more of his stuff.

IMG_7721

Lord Huron went on at 9:15pm and that’s when the upbeat magic began. First off, their stage set up, including their album colour inspired backdrops and the ambient music they played between songs was a great addition to the overall experience. It set the mood for their overall style, something I like to think as a little rustic and rough with upbeat and rockin’ vibes dispersed throughout. The melodic moods in between helped break up the silences between tracks, as sometimes witnessed during shows and created a nice fluidity between the range of tunes and the overall feel of the show.

Their set list had a nice balance of old and new, including tracks such as ‘Lonesome Dreams’ and ‘Cursed’, and ending on one of my favourite tunes of theirs, ‘Time To Run’, which I most definitely jammed out to, dancing up and down and singing along with every word. Along with the great music, their stage performance was like nothing I expected. Having been my first time seeing them live, I was delightfully blown away by their upbeat demeanour and multiple blasting of rifts between guitars, bass, and percussion alike. The whole audience, both in front of the stage beside me and up in the balconies around, all were jamming out to the tunes and just having an incredible time till the end. All in all, it was a wonderful experience and I would be more than happy to see them in concert again!

IMG_7738

Be sure to check out their newest album, ‘Strange Trails’, available on Vinyl, CD, and digital download on iTunes, and Amazon and if you like what you here, make sure to try and grab a ticket to their tour on now!

Leave a Reply

