Mini Reviews: “Sound & Colour” by Alabama Shakes

When I heard Alabama Shakes would be coming  out with a new album my anticipation was high and ready for the music that was to come. As soon as I got a hold of “Sound & Colour” and hit play on the first track, dually named after the title of the album, I was blown away. I have never been taken aback and put into a wonderful musical trance. I cannot tell you how many times I have listened to this album on repeat, as it is one of the few I’m able to do so and enjoy each song as if it were the first time I was hearing it.

Unlike Alabama Shakes’ first album, “Sound & Colour” is more polished and the fluidity is apparent between the moods  and feel of each track in comparison to one another. It’s a good balance between slow sounds to upbeat and rocking tunes. While some tracks have that gritty southern feel that is well known to the band, like the song “The Greatest”, they’ve brought forth some new delights and musical changes to their sound, a sort of percussive organ smoothness, including the album’s titled song, “Sound & Colour”.

To me, it comes across as a view of each and every one of us, perhaps the thoughts and emotions racking up inside of us, waiting to burst out and be free. It grabs a hold of your heart, your inner most you and brings it forth to the movements of the sound.

As one of my top albums in my headphones, the tracks I highly recommend if not diving headfirst into the record is your style, would be “Sound & Colour”, “Don’t Wanna Fight”, “Dunes”, “Gimme All Your Love”, and “The Greatest”. But each tune has their own distinct sound and I would highly recommend giving every one a listen at least once if not more.

TRACK LIST:

  1. “Sound & Colour”
  2. “Don’t Wanna Fight”
  3. “Dunes”
  4. “Future People”
  5. “Gimme All Your Love”
  6. “This Feeling”
  7. “Guess Who”
  8. “The Greatest”
  9. “Shoegaze”
  10. “Miss You”
  11. “Gemini”

alabama-shakes-sound-and-color

Leave a Reply

